Tonight my mom randomly decided that she wanted to go to the movies (randomly fleeing this house has been a common trend as of late), so I went with my mom and sister to see Haunted Mansion. I pretty much agreed with the critics POV towards the movie; a nice movie, but nothing all too special. Visually, the film was amazing. I spent half the movie freaking out as they wandered the mansion, because of the MANY visual references to the ride (me being the disney geek that I am). Certain hallways, room, portraits, and such are recognizable even to those who aren't that familiar with the ride but have been on it. There were also the details that only tards like me would appreciate, and I was greatful for such detail. Things from both the Disneyland and Walt Disney World versions of the ride were present, and even the design of the exterior looked as if they took the two building and smashed them together.
My main problem with the movie was in the story. Looks like the screenwriters didn't do enough of their homework. The story centers around a bride and groom who eventually die in horrible ways, as does the ride's story, but that's about all it has in common. The backstory is really much darker than what was shown in the movie. They've also reduced Madame Leota from a jealous gypsie and mistress out seeking revenge on the world, to a comic relief who is trotted around like an 8-ball, who occasionally throws out a witty comment that not only breaks the mood of the scene, but isn't funny. If you'd like to know the REAL story behind the ride, check this page out: http://doombuggies.com/myths.htm
And I'm out...
"Where mah lazers at? All the people try to show me where mah lazers at...
and your mother tried to show me all the lazers crabs..."
No comments:
Post a Comment